Blackjack Tournaments


GSNs World Series of Blackjack

The World Series of Blackjack is a blackjack tournament that is held annually and broadcast on television by the cable network GSN, formerly known as the Game Show Network. It is a closed tournament and players must be invited to play by the producers or gain entrance through competing in a satellite tournament.

Over the years, the World Series of Blackjack has hosted a number of famous professional blackjack players as well as celebrities. Penn of Penn and Teller, baseball player Orel Hershiser, card counting master Stanford Wong, and Caroline Rhea, a celebrity blackjack champion, have all been part of the tournament.

As the World Series of Blackjack tournament is by invitation only, there is no entry fee. However, the tournament rules are similar to that of other blackjack tournaments. Each player begins the tournament with $100,000 in chips. 25 hands are played, with the minimum bet being $1,000 and the maximum bet being $50,000. At the end of the 25 hands, the player with the most chips is declared the winner. A special ˇ°Burger King Power Chipˇ± gives each player the opportunity to switch out one of his or her cards for the next in the shoe during each game.

Each round is edited down into a 1-hour episode. At the end of the season are the semi-finals and World Series of Blackjack final. The prize pool has been as high as 1 million dollars. Winners have included Mike Aponte, who was a member of the MIT Blackjack Team, Ken Einiger, and Dr. Jeff Bernstein.